hit tracker
prime news list

all information about tech and other

Undefeated college basketball teams: How many national champions did they win during the NCAA Tournament?

Undefeated college basketball teams: How many national champions did they win during the NCAA Tournament?

Mark Few’s 2020-21 Gonzaga team faces a tremendous opportunity: the Bulldogs can become the first team since Bob Knight’s 1975-76 Indiana Hoosiers went undefeated.

Four other teams have entered without a win in the tournament, and each has failed to reach that high point – two teams lost in the Quarterfinals and one in the national tournament.

No pressure, right?

MORE CRAZY MARCH: Live scores | Updated parentheses | TV schedule

Curiously, the Gonzaga team is facing a commitment to perfection that is the only college basketball history program in more than one undefeated season. The Bruins are named for four such campaigns, all under the command of legendary coach John Wood. After winning the last unbeaten team in 1972-73, only the Knights’ Hoosiers remained undefeated and won the national title.

But back to Gonzaga. The team has largely had no doubts this season, winning a senseless average over the previous 30 opponents: 23.1 points per game, nearly six more than second-placed Houston (17.5 points per game). The The Bulldogs ’closest call He came up against BYU in the West Coast Conference Finals: the Cougars were 12 in the lead at halftime, and nine in the middle of the second half. But the team limited BYU to 25 points in the second half, securing an 88-78 victory and securing the goal of an undefeated season and an NCAA Championship. they were one and the same.

Since then, only 16-seeded Norfolk State (four-point lead) and 8-seed Oklahoma (eight-point lead) have led Gonzaga. The Bulldogs won 49 and 16, respectively. It really was the main race, though there is work to be done Gonzaga to establish himself as one of the best college basketball teams of all time.

Here are just two Bulldog twinning games to put together:

What was the last team that went undefeated?

It went undefeated and was the last college basketball team to win a national title Bob Knight’s 1975-76 Hoosiers group. May 32 won this selection led by talents such as Scott May, Kent Benson, Tom Abernathy, Quinn Buckner, Bob Wilkerson and Wayne Radford – all future NBA players -. They scored five wins in the NCAA Championship that season, bringing together only 25 teams at the time.

How many teams have been undefeated national champions?

In total seven the teams went undefeated and won the national championship. (Another team, the 1972-73 NC State Wolfpack, went undefeated but did not compete for the national title). The first team not to win was San Francisco, which went 29-5 in 1955-56; a second season like this came a year later, when North Carolina went 32-0.

The next four undefeated teams came from UCLA, all under Wooden. The team finished with undefeated national titles in 1964, ’67, ’72 and ’73. After that, the last undefeated team – Indiana – ended its career in 1976.

Undefeated college basketball teams

1955-56 San Francisco (29-0)

Coach: Phil Woolpert

Main players:

  • Bill Russell: 20.6 ppg, 21.0 rpg
  • KC Jones: 9.8 ppg, 5.2 rpg

1956-57 North Carolina (32-0)

Coach: Frank McGuire

Main players:

  • Lennie Rosenbluth: 28.0 ppg, 8.0 rpg
  • Pete Brennan: 14.7 ppg, 10.4 rpg
  • Tommy Kearns: 12.8 ppg, 3.1 rpg
  • Joe Quig: 10.3 ppg, 8.6 rpg

1963-64 UCLA (30-0)

Coach: John Wooden

Main players:

  • Gail Goodrich: 21.5 ppg, 5.2 rpg
  • Walt Hazzard: 18.6 ppg, 4.7 rpg
  • Jack Hirsch: 14.0 ppg, 7.6 rpg
  • Keith Ericson: 10.7 ppg, 9.1 rpg

1966-67 UCLA (30-0)

Coach: John Wooden

Main players:

  • Kareem Abdul-Jabbar: 29.0 ppg, 15.5 rpg
  • Lucius Allen: 15.5 ppg, 5.8 rpg
  • Mike Warren: 12.7 ppg, 4.5 rpg
  • Lynn Shackeflord: 11.4 ppg, 5.9 rpg

1971-72 UCLA (30-0)

Coach: John Wooden

Main players:

  • Bill Walton: 21.1 ppg, 15.5 rpg
  • Henry Bibby: 15.7 ppg, 3.5 rpg
  • Jamaal Wilkes: 13.5 ppg, 8.2 rpg
  • Larry Farmer: 10.7 ppg, 5.5 rpg

1972-73 UCLA (30-0)

Coach: John Wooden

Main players:

  • Bill Walton: 20.4 ppg, 16.9 rpg
  • Jamaal Wilkes: 14.8 ppg, 7.3 rpg
  • Larry Farmer: 12.2 ppg, 5.0 rpg
  • Larry Hollyfield: 10.7 ppg, 2.9 rpg

1975-76 Indiana (32-0)

Coach: Bob Knight

Main players:

  • Scott May: 23.5 ppg, 7.7 rpg, 2.1 apg
  • Kent Benson: 17.3 ppg, 8.8 rpg, 1.6 apg
  • Tom Abernathy: 10.0 ppg, 5.3 rpg, 2.0 apg
  • Quinn Buckner: 8.9 ppg, 2.8 rpg, 4.2 apg
  • Bob Wilkerson: 7.8 ppg, 4.9 rpg, 5.3 apg
  • Wayne Radford: 4.7 ppg, 2.7 rpg, 1.3 apg

National champions of single loss

1954-55 San Francisco (28-1)

Coach: Phil Woolpert
Loss: 47-40 loss against No. 13 UCLA

1965-66 UTEP (28-1)

Coach: Don Haskins
Loss: Seattle lost 74-72

1967-68 UCLA (29-1)

Coach: John Wooden
Loss: 71-69 loss to Houston No. 2

1968-69 UCLA (29-1)

Coach: John Wooden
Loss: 46-44 loss to USC

1970-71 UCLA (29-1)

Coach: John Wooden
Loss: 89-82 loss to Notre Dame No. 9

1973-74 NC statue (30-1)

Coach: Norm Sloan
Loss: 84-66 loss against UCLA No. 1

The undefeated team lost in the NCAA Championship

1978-79 Indiana State (33-1)

Coach: Bill Hodges
Loss: Losing 75-64 against Michigan No. 3 (NCAA Championship Game)

1990-91 UNLV (30-1)

Coach: Jerry Tarkanian
Loss: Loss 79-77 6. Against the Duke (Final Four)

2013-14 Wichita Statue (35-1)

Coach: Gregg Marshall
Loss: 78-76 loss to Kentucky (Round 2)

2014-15 Kentucky (38-1)

Coach: John Calipari
Loss: Losing 71-64 against Wisconsin No. 3 (Quarterfinals)

Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *